You are here

Defence cooperation between Nordic countries and Baltic States deepens

28. April 2016 - 16:37

Yesterday, at their meeting in Stockholm, Nordic and Baltic undersecretaries of the ministries of defence admitted that the views of the countries concerning the regional security situation and cooperation are uniform and there is a consensus regarding these fields, regardless of whether the parties belong to NATO or not.

During the meeting, in which U.S. Deputy Secretary of Defense Bob Work also participated, a thorough discussion took place regarding the regional security situation and various defence cooperation formats. A collective look ahead at the NATO Summit in Warsaw was also taken, along with the impact of the decisions that will be made there on security for the region.

At the press conference, U.S. Deputy Secretary of Defense Bob Work stated that he received strong confirmation at the meeting of the fact that together we are stronger than apart and that together it is possible to strengthen the current methods of deterrence.

“Together, we are going to be able to make sure that we have a very secure, safe Baltic and high-north region in which all the citizens of all of our countries will live prosperously and safely," said Work.

According to Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Defence Jonatan Vseviov, the participation of such a high-ranking official from the United States in a security-related meeting for our region demonstrates that the region is a priority for the United States.

“It is worth noting how important NATO's largest member considers our regional security questions to be," said Vseviov. “We have held continuous working level consultations with the United States on the topic of regional security; recently U.S. Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter hosted Estonian Minister of Defence Hannes Hanso, in Washington, and now the number two official at the Pentagon is participating in our meeting.“

The Nordic-Baltic co-operation or NB8 is a regional co-operation format that includes 8 countries: Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia. The countries perform continuous defence related cooperation among themselves and representatives from various levels meet at regular intervals to exchange information and facilitate further cooperation.

Subject related news

Minister of Defence on War of Independence: the roots of freedom are within us
03.01.2019|Ministry of Defence

Minister of Defence on War of Independence: the roots of freedom are within us

A minute of silence was observed today, in Tallinn, marking the 99th anniversary of the War of Independence ceasefire, during which those who gave their lives for Estonia’s independence were remembered.

17.12.2018|Ministry of Defence

Minister of Defence presented medals of international operations

Minister of Defence Jüri Luik presented medals of the participant of international military operations to the nearly 140 servicemen who have participated in operations this year.